Earworms

“Earworm” is a term for music that’s stuck in your head. Don’t believe me? I don’t blame you. I thought it was some kind of ailment when I first heard about it. It sounds like ringworm and swimmer’s ear had a baby and that’s what you came down with. Gross. Anyway if you really don’t believe me, click here and read up on what wikipedia has to say about it. Wiki-wiki!

As you all may or may not know, I am perpetually pleasantly visited by earworms. I listen to music 24/7, I go to concerts, I play music etc. I usually end up with a song of the week so I thought it’d be kinda fun to just keep track of what I’ve been listening to so that when I go home I’ll have a really awesome mix-tape playlist to always remind me of my time here. There’s no rhyme or reason for any of these songs–they’re just what come up. 

Here goes:

Week 1

Paper Bag by Fiona Apple.

Week 2

Naomi by Neutral Milk Hotel
Love me some Jeff Mangum. Really.

Week 3

You Got It by Roy Orbison.
An homage to American Target. I do miss you and your usefulness, Target. Aussie Target does not live up to your standards.

Week 4


Have you Ever by Brandi Carlile

Week 5


Come in Please by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
My  love for this band will not die. I've seen them in concert twice and both times were so magical. I don't think anything will ever beat the time I got to dance on stage with them, on the beach, in front of like a thousand people. So magical. This is one of my favorite tracks on the album, though the whole thing is great.

Week 6


Song For No One by Miike Snow
Good beat. Good fun. Perfect for the sunshine that emerged that week.

Week 7


Here we Are by Patrick Park
 And it's a crying shame
How we get so trained

The rest of the songs will come with regular posts. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

